Rajya Sabha elections Live Updates: MP, Rajasthan CMs vote; BJP MLA arrives in ambulance to cast his vote

Elections to 19 Rajya Sabha seats across eight states are being held today with the contest in Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan promising to be a close affair between the BJP and the Congress.

The voting began at 9 am and will conclude at 4 pm on Friday. Of the 19 seats where polling will be held, four each are from Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat, three each from Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, two from Jharkhand, and one each from Manipur, Mizoram and Meghalaya.

Here are the LIVE Updates on Rajya Sabha elections:

10.55 am: Andhra Pradesh CM YS Jagan Mohan Reddy casts vote.


10.32 am: Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot votes, says all health protocols have been followed for the safety of legislators.

10.21 am: Voting underway for 2 Rajya Sabha seats in Jharkhand: BJP MLA Biranchi Narayan says, “Independent MLAs Saryu Rai, Amit Yadav have extended their support to BJP and we hope to get the support of two other MLAs. With 32 votes, we hope to sent Deepak Prakash to Rajya Sabha.”

10.07 am: BJP MLA from Matar assembly constituency, Kesarisinh Jesangbhai Solanki, arrived at the legislative assembly in an ambulance. He was admitted to hospital following a health issue.

10.05 am: Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan casts his vote for at the state Assembly in Bhopal.

9.50 am: In Rajasthan, three buses carrying BJP MLAs, has reached the state legislative assembly in Jaipur for Rajya Sabha polls.

Both the ruling Congress and opposition BJP have lodged their legislators in different hotels after accusing each other of poaching MLAs. For the three seats up for grabs, four candidates (two from Congress and as many from BJP) have filed nomination papers. The Congress has nominated K C Venugopal and Neeraj Dangi, while the BJP has fielded Rajendra Gehlot and Onkar Singh Lakhawat.

Related posts

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *